Initial Photographs

These are some of the initial photos I have taken for the brief People, Places and Objects. I will evaluate each one and talk about improvements.

SONY DSC

The one of the first photographs I took for people, places and objects was of my grandma while we were making fudge. I like how the natural light is coming from the window and highlights the ingredients book. I like how I have captured her naturally and not staged the photograph. The only thing I would change about this photo is that I would would have turned the artificial lights off in the kitchen to stop the warmth on my grandma’s hair and face.

SONY DSC

This is a portrait on my mum (taken on Sony a350). I like this photo as it was taken in my house using only the artificial lights in the hallway and the door as a background. If i was going to change this photo i wouldn’t but i would like to shoot a few more portraits of her in the studio at college using the lighting provided and some on a film camera. I altered this photo in Adobe Lightroom to make it black and white and slightly make the contrast more prominent as i like portraits in black and white more as i think it adds more authenticity.

This photo relates to my brief as the person in it is a friend I made when starting college and I want to involve my friends in the ‘people’ part of the brief. It also relates to the brief and this photo was took in my town right next to the Primary School I attended. I used Georgina as the focal point of the picture. I used line and symmetry of the fence in the photograph and because they are on either side of her the focus the focal point even more on her. I edited this photograph in Adobe Lightroom to make it Black and White as i just preferred it that way. I like how looking at this picture you want to know what Georgina is looking at.

This is where I catch the bus overtime I go to college so its a very familiar place to me. I photographed this as a part a part of the ‘Places’ part of the brief. I experimented with this photograph in Adobe Lightroom and increased the vibrancy and clarity. I wouldn’t change anything about this photograph.

This photograph comes under the ‘People’ and the ‘Objects’ part of the brief. I took this picture because the wine glass reminds me of her. I altered this photograph in Adobe Lightroom, i made the temperature more cool toned. If i were to re shoot this photograph i would shoot the wine glass separately in the studio.

I took this photograph as a part of the ‘People’ part of the brief even though my cat is not a person he is a part of my family and therefore relates to me. I took this picture in my garden because he likes being in the garden and is very much an outdoor cat. I slightly altered the exposure in Adobe Lightroom because it was a very bright photograph because the sunlight reflected off his fur.

I also took this photograph of my dog as a part of the ‘People’ part of the brief although she is not a person like my cat she is a part of my family. I didn’t change anything on this photograph but if i was going to i would probably blur out the background on Adobe Lightroom or Photoshop to put the focus more on my dog than the background.

I took this picture for the ‘Places’ part of the brief because its where i live. I edited this photograph in Adobe Lightroom and increased the contrast and the clarity because i like how it made the sign look older and i like how it made the contrast between the black and white more prominent. If i was going to change this photograph i would blur out the background to make the sign more prominent.

 

Leave a Reply

